Real Estate School

Kylin Realty Online Course

      We'd love to provide a scholarship for your career, please contact us, looking forward to meeting you!

         https://portal.recampus.com/re/kylin/portal/welcome

Pre-Licensing Requirements

There are three basic requirements that you must meet before you can become a real estate sales associate or broker. You must:

 

·Be at least 18 years old

·Have a valid social security number

·Have a high school diploma or GED

 

In addition to these requirements, there are pre-licensing requirements that each sales associate and broker must also meet before being allowed to take the state exam. Those pre-licensing requirements are different for sales associates and brokers. Below, we will discuss these differences.

 

Pre-licensing courses vary in length. Online courses allow you to set your own pace, while classroom courses can last from a few weeks to a few months depending on which real estate license you are applying for. Broker courses will most likely take longer than sales associate courses since more course hours are required for brokers.

 

Additionally, online courses can usually be started immediately, while in-person classroom courses generally have a scheduled start date, scheduled class times, and a set end date. To accommodate people, many schools and programs offer a variety of times for in-class pre-licensing courses to allow you to find the one that best fits your schedule.

 

Online courses are not for everyone. Keep in mind that it will be your responsibility to manage your time and complete the work. You will need to have access to a computer and the internet in order to take the online courses as well. An online course is not ideal for those who are not self-starters or who need the support of a teacher along the way. That said, many online programs do allow you to email or IM professors for support.

 

Sales Associate Pre-Licensing Requirements

Before taking your Florida Real Estate Exam, you will be required to take a pre-licensing course, have your electronic fingerprints taken as part of your background check, and successfully pass the exam at the end of your pre-licensing course.


Florida offers pre-licensing courses for sales associates in two settings. Choose whether a classroom setting or an online course is best for you, and be sure that the course you choose is state-approved. If you're not sure where to look, most real estate schools and real estate associations across the state offer pre-licensing courses.

 

The pre-licensing course required for sales associates is 63 hours. Course packages generally range between $60 and $360 depending on the course, school and setting. The pre-licensing course will cover: Real estate laws Real estate principles and practices

 

·Real estate math

·Real estate principles and practices

·Real estate math

 

The time you spend on your course is very important. Florida requires your pre-licensing course hours to be monitored closely. If the minimum 63 hours are not met, the instructors/institution will not be allowed to give you credit.

 

To ensure you get full credit for your pre-licensing course, be sure to get all the required class hours in. For online courses, be sure to enter the video lecture on time and do not log out until it is through. For classroom courses, be sure to arrive before the class begins and do not leave until the class concludes.

 

In order to pass the course and receive your certification of course completion, you must pass the exam at the end of the pre-licensing course with a z75% or higher.

 

The certification of completion that you receive after passing the pre-licensing exam will be valid for two years. This means that you do not have to repeat the the63-hour pre-licensing course so long as you take and pass your state real estate exam before the two-year mark. If you fail to obtain your Florida Real Estate Sales Associate License before two years pass, you will be required to pay for and complete the pre-licensing course all over again.

 

Exceptions to the Pre-Licensing Course Requirements

Florida makes three exceptions to the pre-licensing course.Those exceptions are as follows:

1. If you are legally licensed to practice law (meaning your license is up-to-date and valid) in the State of Florida, then, you are not required to complete and pass a real estate pre-licensing course. Instead, you may complete your application and register to take the Florida Real Estate Exam by attaching a copy of your current Florida Bar credentials to the exam application.

 

2. You have attended an accredited real estate school, technical center, community college, or university, successfully received your credentials showing youve passed the course, and the real estate course or courses meet the following requirements:

 

·Covers the required course materials of a pre-licensing course.

·Is 63 hours or more

·Meets the real estate commission standards

 

Then you may attach your transcripts or certification from your educational institution to your application.

 

3. You have successfully graduated with a bachelor's degree or higher in the field of real estate, from a university or institute of higher learning that meets the Florida Real Estate Commission's guidelines for coursework..You may then attach your official transcripts to your real estate exam application.

 

NOTE: The Florida Real Estate Commission may require you to submit other supporting documents before it approves your credentials and application for the exam.

 

Requirements Specific to Brokers

A real estate sales associate is an entry-level real estate position. If you enjoy your career and are striving to branch out, then your next step is most likely to become a real estate broker. To take this next step in your real estate career, there are four basic requirements you need to meet first.

 

The first three basic requirements are the same as those for a real estate sales associate. You must:

 

·Be at least 18 years old

·Have a valid social security number

·Have a high school diploma or GED

 

Additionally, in order to become a real estate broker, you must also work as an active real estate sales associate for at least two years over a five-year period; In addition to meeting these four basic requirements, any real estate sales associate wishing to become a broker must also complete a pre-licensing course.

 

In addition to meeting these four basic requirements, any real estate sales associate wishing to become a broker must also complete a pre-licensing course.

 

Broker Pre-Licensing Requirements

Before taking your Florida Real Estate Exam, you will be required to take a pre-licensing course, have your electronic fingerprints taken as part of your background check, and successfully pass the exam at the end of your pre-licensing course.

 

Florida offers pre-licensing courses for real estate brokers in two settings. Choose whether a classroom setting or an online course is best for you, and be sure that the course you choose is state-approved. If you're not sure where to look, most real estate schools and real estate associations across the state offer pre-licensing courses.

 

The pre-licensing course required for real estate brokers is 72 hours long. Course packages generally range between $150 and $400 depending on the course and setting you to choose. The pre-licensing course will cover:

 

·Real estate brokerage

·Values, listing, and selling of properties

·Contracts, financing, and financial aspects of real estate

·Environment, zoning, and planning as it relates to real estate

·Property management and the real estate market

 

In order to pass the course and receive your certification of course completion, you must pass the exam at the end of the pre-licensing course with a 75% or: higher.

 

The certification of completion that you receive after passing the pre-licensing exam will be valid for two years. This means that you do not have to repeat the the72-hour pre-licensing course so long as you pass your state real estate exam. before the two-year mark. If you fail to obtain your Florida Real Estate Broker; License before the two years is over, you will be required to pay for and complete the pre-licensing course all over again.


Registering for the Exam

After successfully completing your pre-licensing course to become a real estate sales associate or broker, it's time to register for the Florida Real Estate Exam.The application process for the exam has multiple steps and fees. Those steps include:

 

·Completing an exam application and paying the application fees

·Submitting and paying for digital fingerprinting

·Registering with Pearson VUE(a third-party vendor used by the Florida Real Estate Commission to conduct computerized testing)

·Scheduling your exam

·Paying the exam fee

 

Submitting your Application

First, you will fill out your real estate exam application and submit it to the Department of Business and Professional Regulations, also known as the DBPR.The application can be found on the Florida Department of Business and

Professional Regulations' website: http://www.myfloridalicense.com. Once there:

 

·Select the Online Services tab near the top of the page.

·Click on the Apply for a License option.

·Choose the license type. In this case, Real Estate.

·When you reach the Getting Started as a Real Estate Professional page, choose the Apply for a License tab.

You will then choose either (1) Real Estate Sales Associates, or (2): Real Estate Brokers.

Select the application that applies to you. This will most likely be one of the following:

·Initial Application - Sales Associate License (Form RE1), which is the first option under the Real Estate Sales Associate tab.

·Initial Application - Broker License - Upgrade from Sales Associate to Broker (Form RE2), which is the third option under the Real Estate Brokers tab.

·This selection will take you to another page.At the bottom of either page, you will be given the option to either

 Apply Using Online Services

·This option will take you to a new page. Once there, you will create a log-in profile. Then you will sign into your account and fill out the application as prompted.

Apply Using a Printable Application

·This option will take you to a new page. Here you will find a printable application complete with written instructions. Once printed, you will fill out the application, complete the application checklist and ensure that you have all the required components from the list.

·Once your application is completed, place it (and all its components, including the fee) in a sealed envelope, and. send it to the following address:

 

Department of Business and Professional Regulations

2601Blair Stone Road

Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783

 

Application fees can be paid for using a check or money order. Those applying online can pay with a credit or debit card. Application fees, while subject to change, are currently as follows:

·Florida Real Estate Commission Application for Sales Associate License -$83.75

·Florida Real Estate Commission Application for Broker License - $91.75

 

Background Checks and Digital Fingerprints

Florida requires that both sales associates and brokers pass a local, state, and federal background check before their application for the exam is approved. As part of this background check, all applicants are required to submit digital fingerprints.

 

In addition to the information provided below, the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation's website offers a PDF document,

 

Frequently Asked Questions -Electronic Fingerprinting,:

http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/servop/testing/documents/finger faq.pdf.

 

This document gives you details on the digital fingerprinting requirements and what you need to bring with you. One of the details you will find on this information sheet will be the Originating Agency Identification Number, commonly referred to as the ORI number.

 

The ORI number will inform the Florida Department of Law Enforcement of why you need the background check and which agency they need to send your background check results to. For the purpose of Florida Real Estate Agents and brokers, your ORI number is FL920010Z. This is the number you will need when filling out your background check information. The wrong ORI will result in your background check not being completed.

 

The DBPR accepts digital fingerprints from any Live Scan Service Provider that is.Florida Department of Law Enforcement-approved. A list of approved Live Scan service providers can be found by going to the Florida Department of Law

Enforcement website at http://www.fdle.state.fl.us/. The following steps will take you to the current approved list of Live Scan vendors in Florida:

 

1. Choose the "Quick Linkstab at the top of the webpage.

2. On the "Quick Links" page, you will find the link for Live Scan Service Providers in the list under theCriminal Justice Information" heading.

3. Click the link which will take you to the Obtaining Criminal History Information page.

4. Near the bottom of the page, you will find the link for the Current list of Live Scan Providers.

5. Click the link.

6. This will pull up the FDLE printable list of current approved Live Scan vendors and their contact information.

a. This will allow you to choose the one that is most convenient for you and arrange to have your digital fingerprints taken.

 

Once you have chosen a Live Scan vendor, you will need to schedule an appointment, as walk-ins are not allowed. Depending on the vendor you have chosen, appointments can be made online or by phone. Vendor phone numbers will be listed on the Florida Department of Law Enforcement's website.

 

When you make your appointment with the Live Scan vendor, you will be given an appointment confirmation number. You will be required to provide this as part of your identity verification when you arrive for your appointment. Real estate sales associates and brokers are required to complete a Level 2 background check, which will be performed by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement. A Level 2 background check includes local and state background checks, as well as an FBI background check. The check includes fingerprinting.

 

Fingerprinting should be done a minimum of five days before you submit your licensing exam application. Failure to have your fingerprinting completed before your application is processed will cause your application to be flagged and rejected, and you will be required to resubmit the application and go through the process again.

 

As part of the digital fingerprinting process, you will be asked to fill out your demographic information, This information must be accurate and complete, or your background check will be declined.

 

The demographic information you will be asked to provide for your background check includes:

 

·Full name

·Maiden name or aliases (if you have either)

·The country in which you are a citizen

·Social security number

·The city and state in which you were born

·Gender and race

·Height and weight

·Eye and hair colors

·Home and work addresses

·Home phone number

·Email address

 

In addition to providing your demographic information, you will be required to.show two valid forms of ID when you arrive for your appointment. This will include a primary and secondary form of identification. The identification you provide must match. Your number-one form of identification must be a government-issued photo ID. Primary identifications that are accepted by Live Scan vendors include:

 

State-Issued Identification:

·Driver's license

·Identification card

 

U.S. Government-Issued Identification:

·U.S. passport

·Military ID

·DOD Common Access Card

·U.S. work visa with photo

 

Foreign Government-Issued Identification:

·Foreign passport

·Foreign driver's license

 

Secondary forms of identifications that are accepted by Live Scan vendors include, but are not limited to: